Clipisode | Lil Rel Howery | More Details
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 30, 2018
    92
    Possibly the most topical, vibrant, relatable and contemporary writing in the video games art form right now. Dontnod creates a tour de force of "magical realism" and if Roads is any indication, Life Is Strange 2 will feature heavily in Best of Year lists in a few months.
  2. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    I’m cautiously optimistic for the rest of the season--far too many episodic adventures have strong starts and mediocre finishes--but this first episode promises a solid and tense story for the season. Let’s just hope that Dontnod can keep this momentum for the other four episodes.
  3. Sep 26, 2018
    90
    Following on from Max and Chloe’s time-twisting adventure was always going to be a tricky task, but Dontnod have pulled it off with aplomb in Life Is Strange 2’s first episode. Sean and Daniel’s relationship, the tragedy that sends them on the run, the contrasting people that they meet and the supernatural twists on a modern day drama all come together in wonderful fashion.
  4. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    Life Is Strange 2: Episode 1 is a triumphant first chapter, featuring a narrative that fearlessly reflects the lives of two Latino brothers living in our politically-charged climate.
  5. Sep 26, 2018
    85
    The storytelling is done well, where you learn a little bit at a time about the characters, their background, and the larger context for things that are happening around them.
  6. Sep 26, 2018
    83
    Dontnod does a great job at introducing these new characters and fleshing them out, and it will be interesting to see how Daniel comes to terms with his life-changing powers.
  7. Oct 8, 2018
    81
    Episode 1 is a respectable first step. I'm acquainted with the characters, understand where the story's headed, and want to know if everyone's going to be okay. In short, I care, and that speaks volumes. While I wasn't blown away, I think this is a reliable foundation for some killer storytelling. Given the consistent quality Dontnod presents, I have faith that they will, at very least, meet the expectations of their fans.
  8. Oct 12, 2018
    80
    Life is Strange 2 tells a brand new and almost independent story which focuses on teenagers' strange life, and Episode 1 is a good start. The dramatic beginning of episode 1 is shocking, and the characters are impressive. Choices are not as important as I wish, but the money management system greatly makes up those flaws.
  9. Sep 27, 2018
    80
    Overall, it’s hard for me to find a reason to not recommend this game. Returning fans of the series will find the new direction of Life Is Strange 2 refreshing, but not unfamiliar. This is also a great jump on point for fans of the genre who may have missed other entries in the Life Is Strange series. Personally, I’m looking forward to future episodes.
  10. Sep 27, 2018
    80
    The relationship between two brothers is realistic and cute. The first episode is a bit of a slow start, but the writing certainly is better now.
  11. Sep 26, 2018
    80
    It starts badly for the characters, but very well for the players. It's a sad story for Sean and Daniel. And we already know with some sequences of this episode that Life is Strange 2 has a chance to be a successful heir to the first season, thanks to its unique atmosphere, well-written characters and some tough choices to make. Potential is here. It's clear DONTNOD has the power to fulfill it.
  12. Sep 26, 2018
    77
    The first episode of choose-your-own-adventure drama Life is Strange 2 is an ambitious sequel that succeeds in its quietest moments.
  13. Sep 28, 2018
    75
    Life is Strange 2: Episode one is a good start to an interesting adventure. The beginning is terrible and the political statements feel forced, but the dynamic relationship between Sean and Daniel is relatable and enjoyable. Episode one has flaws, but I’m excited to see what happens next.
  14. Edge Magazine
    Oct 11, 2018
    70
    There's something vital about this first episode's endearingly messy setup: to err is human, after all, and Life is Strange is nothing if not that. [December 2018, p.121]
  15. Sep 26, 2018
    70
    Life is Strange 2's first episode goes in a bold new direction that points the series towards current political issues as much as it does human drama. It's promising but a little slow to get going after a thrilling opening scene.
  16. Sep 26, 2018
    70
    Life is Strange 2 does not take advantage of the choices that would bring forth different situations during the episode 1. All the focus is put on the "education" that we bring to our little brother but, for now, it's impossible to define the consequences of it.
  17. Oct 9, 2018
    68
    The first episode of Life is Strange 2 looks like a walking simulator.
  18. 60
    Life is Strange 2: Episode 1 will probably scratch the itch for more of that quirky style, but the story ditches many elements that made the original title great. Fans will likely enjoy the quirky dialogue and aesthetics on display. Just not as much as they did with the original.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 17, 2018
    I know I have a limited amount of time with the Diaz brothers and I want to make the most of it.
  2. Sep 26, 2018
    Life Is Strange 2's debut episode, despite its faults and its slow-moving pace, starts the series off compellingly, setting off on a road trip adventure that I'm sure will bear more hardship for the two brothers than unlikely friendships.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 79
  2. Negative: 31 out of 79
  1. Sep 28, 2018
    0
    Trash, which is a shame since I loved LiS. Heavy handed political crap (pushed on us from people across the pond, no less), cliche characters,Trash, which is a shame since I loved LiS. Heavy handed political crap (pushed on us from people across the pond, no less), cliche characters, lazy writing, none of the "feels" are earned but forced on you, characters make no sense in choices / actions and buggy. There's no way this deserves a high score by any objective measurement Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2018
    1
    So many stereotypes in just a short episode. Everything is there you need nowadays:
    The poor but honest Mexican immigrant family that
    So many stereotypes in just a short episode. Everything is there you need nowadays:
    The poor but honest Mexican immigrant family that innocently gets accused of a crime.
    The interracial couple.
    The cop that shoots too quick.
    And of course the proud white American patriot/racist guy.

    Even worse, Life is Strange 2 is another game that basically gives you zero choice to mercilessly push its narrative, err story line.
    Playing this game you get reminded again and again that the developers have preferred being politically correct and becoming woke instead of delivering an interesting game.

    That's our new world: Getting political bias/propaganda served right in your video GAME.
    As if we wouldn't have enough of that in our traditional media already. :(
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    1
    the pointless non-centered camera makes it unplayable for me. why not using a normal center camera? why? why? why?