The Economist Continental Europe Edition – August 18, 2018 | Like Stars on Earth | Clash of Kings
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Edge Magazine
    Oct 11, 2018
    70
    There's something vital about this first episode's endearingly messy setup: to err is human, after all, and Life is Strange is nothing if not that. [December 2018, p.121]
  2. Sep 26, 2018
    70
    Life is Strange 2's first episode goes in a bold new direction that points the series towards current political issues as much as it does human drama. It's promising but a little slow to get going after a thrilling opening scene.
  3. Sep 26, 2018
    70
    Life is Strange 2 does not take advantage of the choices that would bring forth different situations during the episode 1. All the focus is put on the "education" that we bring to our little brother but, for now, it's impossible to define the consequences of it.
  4. Oct 9, 2018
    68
    The first episode of Life is Strange 2 looks like a walking simulator.
  5. 60
    Life is Strange 2: Episode 1 will probably scratch the itch for more of that quirky style, but the story ditches many elements that made the original title great. Fans will likely enjoy the quirky dialogue and aesthetics on display. Just not as much as they did with the original.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 26, 2018
    Life Is Strange 2's debut episode, despite its faults and its slow-moving pace, starts the series off compellingly, setting off on a road trip adventure that I'm sure will bear more hardship for the two brothers than unlikely friendships.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 78
  2. Negative: 30 out of 78
  1. Sep 28, 2018
    0
    Trash, which is a shame since I loved LiS. Heavy handed political crap (pushed on us from people across the pond, no less), cliche characters,Trash, which is a shame since I loved LiS. Heavy handed political crap (pushed on us from people across the pond, no less), cliche characters, lazy writing, none of the "feels" are earned but forced on you, characters make no sense in choices / actions and buggy. There's no way this deserves a high score by any objective measurement Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2018
    1
    So many stereotypes in just a short episode. Everything is there you need nowadays:
    The poor but honest Mexican immigrant family that
    So many stereotypes in just a short episode. Everything is there you need nowadays:
    The poor but honest Mexican immigrant family that innocently gets accused of a crime.
    The interracial couple.
    The cop that shoots too quick.
    And of course the proud white American patriot/racist guy.

    Even worse, Life is Strange 2 is another game that basically gives you zero choice to mercilessly push its narrative, err story line.
    Playing this game you get reminded again and again that the developers have preferred being politically correct and becoming woke instead of delivering an interesting game.

    That's our new world: Getting political bias/propaganda served right in your video GAME.
    As if we wouldn't have enough of that in our traditional media already. :(
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    1
    the pointless non-centered camera makes it unplayable for me. why not using a normal center camera? why? why? why?