Season 0 Episode 24 The Story So Far (2017) | La prima pietra 22 novembre 2018 | Ricomincio da noi
Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 2, 2018
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 317 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
270
Mixed:
35
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PerArduaAdPubNov 2, 2018
It's about legends. Whether or not this is a fair and accurate account of Freddie Mercury's life, I'm honestly not bothered. All I know is that the film electrified it's audience by putting the thrill of the greatest Rock and Roll performanceIt's about legends. Whether or not this is a fair and accurate account of Freddie Mercury's life, I'm honestly not bothered. All I know is that the film electrified it's audience by putting the thrill of the greatest Rock and Roll performance in history on the big screen. The elation stays with you after you leave the Cinema. Legendary! Expand
20 of 23 users found this helpful203
All this user's reviews
10
KrisTina_5Nov 3, 2018
I have no idea why the critics didn't enjoy this movie as much as the audience does. I loved every second of it!!! It was an emotional rollercoaster. The cast is perfect, and they paid a very respectful tribute to the band. Rami Malek did anI have no idea why the critics didn't enjoy this movie as much as the audience does. I loved every second of it!!! It was an emotional rollercoaster. The cast is perfect, and they paid a very respectful tribute to the band. Rami Malek did an exceptional job portraying Freddie. It's worth your time !!! Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
ThumokNov 4, 2018
So glad I stopped reading the so-called "critic reviews" quite a while ago. They are almost always off nowadays, it's funny, the movies I enjoy have rotten reviews and vice versa. Anyways - great movie this one. Go watch it if you like Queen.So glad I stopped reading the so-called "critic reviews" quite a while ago. They are almost always off nowadays, it's funny, the movies I enjoy have rotten reviews and vice versa. Anyways - great movie this one. Go watch it if you like Queen. If you don't know or don't like Queen, you probably won't connect with the movie and I wouldn't suggest it for you... Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
BocephuszosoNov 5, 2018
I rarely do reviews on movies as what makes a good movie for someone is is soooo subjective.
I just saw this movie yesterday and was blown away. A solid 9 out of 10. If Rami Malek who played Freddie Mercury doesn't get an Oscar nod for his
I rarely do reviews on movies as what makes a good movie for someone is is soooo subjective.
I just saw this movie yesterday and was blown away. A solid 9 out of 10. If Rami Malek who played Freddie Mercury doesn't get an Oscar nod for his stellar effort there is no justice in the movie business these days. Lastly the critics are totally clueless on this one. Must be the same critics who trashed Led Zeppelin in the 70's. Must see movie....
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DokemNov 8, 2018
I don't understand the critics. This movie was great. It's not perfect that's true, but you will enjoy it. I cried several times during the film. It was a very emotional experience. Rami Malek was awesome, great work.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SLAMNDANNov 3, 2018
Baffled by the negative critic reaction to the film. The film does tread lightly on the darker aspects of Freddy's life, but it's a celebration of Queen, not an expose.
It's a highly enjoyable film with good performances, especially from Rami
Baffled by the negative critic reaction to the film. The film does tread lightly on the darker aspects of Freddy's life, but it's a celebration of Queen, not an expose.
It's a highly enjoyable film with good performances, especially from Rami Malek and would recommend it to any fan of Queen or great rock.
Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
9
ashiakatamakiNov 2, 2018
Wanted to take this opportunity to express some of the backlash and negativity from those who dislike this film. Opinions will be opinions, and reading through some critics' reviews, I can certainly see their point sometimes,
but the film
Wanted to take this opportunity to express some of the backlash and negativity from those who dislike this film. Opinions will be opinions, and reading through some critics' reviews, I can certainly see their point sometimes,
but the film literally ends with a song about having a good time. If the audience was entertained, so what if you didn't get the rated-R Queen story you wanted? So what if Freddie Mercury wasn't played by Sacha Baron Cohen? So what if the filmmakers made artistic changes? Will the audience even care? Isn't film supposed to entertain?

Pushing all the film's production issues aside, it can't be understated how much of a feel-good movie this really is. From what I can see, repeat watches will be immensely entertaining.

All the acting here is on point. As you've no doubt heard already Rami Malek gives the film his all as Freddie Mercury. He is the heart and soul of this movie and it wouldn't work without his electrifying performance. It's the little things that define his Mercury: the little facial tics, cracked smiles and so on. He's definitely a shoe-in for that Best Actor.
I was also very impressed by Gwilym Lee as Brian May and Ben Hardy as Roger Taylor. The two of them are great foils to Malek's Mercury and both embody their real-life selves so well.

As for filmmaking, I have one or two small gripes here and there. The editing was choppy at times, (during dialogue scenes) cutting away abruptly after someone has finished his/her lines; to my knowledge it happened twice or thrice. The camerawork is spectacular, lots of close-ups, puts you in the moment. The CGI isn't anything specialbut it gets the job done.

Overall, I really loved Bohemian Rhapsody. The last 30 minutes really did encapsulate the audience in experiencing Queen and Freddie Mercury; and it's been some time since my friends and I left the cinema feeling this good.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
uahNov 2, 2018
This is a very respectufl film about a legendary group and character.

DO NOT trust the critics, they were worng before with QUEEN, and they are wrong again.

This is a fantastic film that every Queen fan will enjoy.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
sampson3121Nov 2, 2018
Once again critics are wrong and the public understands what rock & roll was and is. Freddy would have been proud.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
duanewilliamsNov 2, 2018
I thought it was very entertaining and way better than the critic reviews indicate. If you like the music of Queen, you will enjoy this film, because it is filled with music. And because it is so greatly oriented to the music, pick aI thought it was very entertaining and way better than the critic reviews indicate. If you like the music of Queen, you will enjoy this film, because it is filled with music. And because it is so greatly oriented to the music, pick a theater with excellent sound. I have no idea whether it is an accurate portrayal of Freddie Mercury's life, but it is not just about Freddie Mercury. It's about the band too and their amazing success and the legacy of their music. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
OxagothNov 2, 2018
Gran pelicula biografica, faltaron un par de cosas, pero es casi perfecta. Esta peli no es para todos los publicos, eso que quede claro
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
georgemichaelNov 2, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this movie is amazing, so emotional and so well acted i would watch it over and over again! Freddie Mercury is such a legend!! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
ButternutNov 2, 2018
We really enjoyed it. The actors did a great job and the music was fantastic. It left us feeling quite emotional and also very inspired. My teen really enjoyed it as well. She said felt a little bummed though that she wasn't around to seeWe really enjoyed it. The actors did a great job and the music was fantastic. It left us feeling quite emotional and also very inspired. My teen really enjoyed it as well. She said felt a little bummed though that she wasn't around to see them together in concert. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
TheSpartonNov 2, 2018
I found it very difficult to fault this. Well acted and a blast to watch. Critics say it doesn’t focus enough on Freddie as a person and his personal challenges. I say it’s spot on with a good amount of focus on the whole band and theirI found it very difficult to fault this. Well acted and a blast to watch. Critics say it doesn’t focus enough on Freddie as a person and his personal challenges. I say it’s spot on with a good amount of focus on the whole band and their journey. Loved it! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
dklingenNov 3, 2018
I think it was done very well and was excellent and entertaining. Rami Malek deserves a Best Actor Academy Award in my opinion. I cannot understand anyone who likes Queen's music and appreciates how great they were not liking this movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Jiano74Nov 6, 2018
Yes this film may have a few historical inaccuracies, but that doesn't really matter, the film was two hours of fun and I enjoyed ever minute as a huge Queen fan. Rami Malek was the perfect fit to play Freddie Mercury even getting hisYes this film may have a few historical inaccuracies, but that doesn't really matter, the film was two hours of fun and I enjoyed ever minute as a huge Queen fan. Rami Malek was the perfect fit to play Freddie Mercury even getting his mannerisms down to a T, the Live Aid scene was done very well. This film is a must watch for any Queen fan, it will get you singing and crying throughout. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
miccaelNov 7, 2018
so we have 4.9 critic score and 8.3 user score average: ladies and gentlemen - we have another "critics don't get it" scenario.
Just like Freddie said in this movie - everyone's a critic now.
This was great movie to watch, someone who is NOT
so we have 4.9 critic score and 8.3 user score average: ladies and gentlemen - we have another "critics don't get it" scenario.
Just like Freddie said in this movie - everyone's a critic now.
This was great movie to watch, someone who is NOT A QUEEN FAN (but am now) I enjoyed this experience and happily provided my money to support the film which is shot amazingly and Rami of course - who played great! After movie - I am Queen fan now, and have been THE Queen fan since I came to UK (I have big respect for Her Majesty).
Movie is 2 hours but feels exactly right. It never bores, but I wish some creative music-making scenes were longer. Overall, this is solid movie, since I have to provide score, I guess 8/10? But an Oscar nominee for sure, for performance
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
fanaticQNov 3, 2018
very good, exciting, you'll cry if you're a fan.all the actors do a good job starring their characters, and when you see Rami Malek in the movie, you'll see Freddie Mercury.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
vasquezhenryrNov 3, 2018
I really enjoyed the movie. My wife and kids also liked it. I thought Rami Malek did an amazing job portraying Freddie Mercury.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
bitterfoolNov 2, 2018
Pacing might be a little strange at times, but overall a great story with amazing performances. Many emotional moments and of course the amazing soundtrack in a theater setting (especially Imax) alone was worth experiencing this movie.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
cThorNov 4, 2018
Wow. What an interesting film. I have never been a huge fan of Queen's music, nor do I know how the real story of this band actually played out in the real world... So I have nothing to compare my analysis of this film on besides the filmWow. What an interesting film. I have never been a huge fan of Queen's music, nor do I know how the real story of this band actually played out in the real world... So I have nothing to compare my analysis of this film on besides the film itself.

This film was absolutely brilliant in so many ways, yet I didn't realize I liked it so much until the last 30 minutes. I had no idea what direction the plot was going, which kept me watching, hoping it didn't head south. To my enjoyment it didn't go south at all; Instead it became one of my favorite films of the year. My point in saying this is: Don't knock the movie until you watch it in its entirety and really look back at the movie as a whole.

The acting and character development was outstanding. The music was, to my surprise, heartwarming, fun, and meaningful to listen to in conjunction with what was presented on the screen. Touching back on one of my original points, and why this movie was so damn good: The story was riveting and easy to follow but it didn't give away the end result (unless you knew already). For someone like myself who didn't know the story of the band, the story progression was subtle and kept me glued to the screen waiting to see what was going to happen next.

Overall it was just an amazing movie with awesome music, great acting, small bursts of comedy, meaningful but not overbearing important messages, drama, conflict, and some tear-jerking moments. The film had it all and it is definitely worth watching, regardless of whether you know the story of the band from beginning to end. (A side note, my girlfriend saw the film with me and enjoyed it even more than I did and she loves Queen and knew how the plot was going to turn out)
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Vince19DrumsNov 3, 2018
Bohemian Rhapsody is a true masterpiece, even if it has some non truth in it. Rami Malek does a brillant job as Freddie! I don't care what does the critics says, every Queen fan will like it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
bataguilaNov 3, 2018
Entretenida. La moraleja de la peli: "GAY, es ser una persona nefasta, impertinente, lujuriosa, viciosa, drogadicta, soberbia, solitaria, etc cosas del infierno; por lo que merece la muerte. Pero si eres virtuoso de la música puedes pasar aEntretenida. La moraleja de la peli: "GAY, es ser una persona nefasta, impertinente, lujuriosa, viciosa, drogadicta, soberbia, solitaria, etc cosas del infierno; por lo que merece la muerte. Pero si eres virtuoso de la música puedes pasar a ser recordado, sino, muérete de SIDA". El concierto final creo era mejor reproducir el original, que recrearlo". Malek muy bien, y Singer buen director. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
deecatNov 5, 2018
It's a kind of magic. Bohemian Rhapsody makes up for its lack of depth and accuracy with rocking rollicking entertainment. Yes! a film that is actually entertaining, a rarity these days. Rami Malek's performance as Queens frontman FreddyIt's a kind of magic. Bohemian Rhapsody makes up for its lack of depth and accuracy with rocking rollicking entertainment. Yes! a film that is actually entertaining, a rarity these days. Rami Malek's performance as Queens frontman Freddy Mercury is pitch perfect. If your a fan of Queens music, go see it. If you do see it, see it in IMAX. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
oscarllaveNov 2, 2018
This is a masterpiece. Rami Malek gives an excellent performance. This movie is also a good tribute to Queen.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LaurabohannonNov 2, 2018
One of the best movies I have seen in years. The music was fantastic, the acting was excellent and I felt like I was at a Queen concert only better! I do not repeat movies but this one is worth seeing over and over again. Amazing! LauraB
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
jumeNov 2, 2018
The cast of this movie did a fantastic job in capturing each character's charisma! I heard Brian May a few years ago on an interview saying how each member contributed to their song-writing - and this is so well displayed in the movie. ItThe cast of this movie did a fantastic job in capturing each character's charisma! I heard Brian May a few years ago on an interview saying how each member contributed to their song-writing - and this is so well displayed in the movie. It takes a lot of talent to portray a character like Freddy Mercury - and Rami Malek does an excellent job. As I read the negative comments, I am shaking my head because if you like Queen and their music, you will love this movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondNov 2, 2018
I've never seen a movie quite like this before, and I've seen all the music docs. It starts out really well, and then gets incredibly boring in the middle third, before finishing in triumphant fashion. I'm not sure that moviegoers whoI've never seen a movie quite like this before, and I've seen all the music docs. It starts out really well, and then gets incredibly boring in the middle third, before finishing in triumphant fashion. I'm not sure that moviegoers who weren't music fans during Live Aid (1985) will appreciate it nearly as much - that was an incredible day. I agree with the critics in general that the songs are pretty much the entire film. The connective tissue between them is average at best. This movie makes Control (the Joy Division movie) look like high art. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffNov 2, 2018
What makes 'Bohemian Rhapsody' a well-made biopic is its unrestrained look at the personal life of its main character, what stops it from being a truly great biopic is its rather mellow and simple exploration of certain themes, especiallyWhat makes 'Bohemian Rhapsody' a well-made biopic is its unrestrained look at the personal life of its main character, what stops it from being a truly great biopic is its rather mellow and simple exploration of certain themes, especially since its supporting characters all feel the same just to make its central focus stand out that much more. Rami Malek portrays the musical legend Freddy Mercury in a very convincing and committed performance (one that I'm sure might even land him an Oscar nomination). He lives a very typical and peaceful life with his family and one day he goes to a college club where a band performs and he thinks he has what it takes. He meets the band members; Brian May (Gwilym Lee), Roger Taylor (Ben Hardy) and John Deacon (Joseph Mazzello) and he shows them what he's capable of. He joins the band as their lead singer, and despite his Asian background and his teeth abnormality, his image is outweighed by his charisma and lead performance to wow the crowd. Freddie believes that he can take this band further by finding them an agent and signing a record contract and giving them the ability to record any song they wish. Their ambitions are always limited whether it's because the band itself constantly disagree on many things, or that their managers and record companies say that they can't release certain songs because of many concerns including the length and confusing names that may not catch on. They come across many obstacles in their early career, but manage to get their message spread across. The film also focuses on Mercury's sexuality, as he tells his girlfrend, Mary (Lucy Boynton) that he wants to marry her one day, but she figures out time after time that he is gay. Freddie tries to deny this but he can't seem to stop himself each time he comes across a man who appreciates him for who he is. Overall, this film is great if you are a fan of Queen and are interested in the story of how they became one of the most groundbreaking bands of all time. Despite some clunky direction and maybe even some historical inaccuracies, this movie works if you really care about it. Malek shines the most as the lead singer, and the film's final act - despite a very dragging second act - is definitely worth sitting through, it's craftsmanship is amazing and you will feel like you were just a part of history. The production design and cinematography alone make this worth watching on the big screen. 'Bohemian Rhapsody' the movie may not come close to the song of a similar name, but when it gets good, it's alive. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
wpoe54Nov 4, 2018
I was not a big Queen fan back in the day, but this movie converted me. Rami Malek is phenomenal, and the movie rocks. Saw it in IMAX and felt I was part of the crowd. I say it is the best rock and roll film of all time.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ijohanaNov 2, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blow my mind. we really enjoyed it how the producer mixed the crowd scenes in the movie. The actors did an awesome job as well, especially Malek. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Dale6aNov 3, 2018
This is a great film, simple as that!
A story that covers a 15 year period of one if not the greatest bands and showman there has ever been.
If you were lucky enough like me to grow up with the music of Queen and witness them live along with
This is a great film, simple as that!
A story that covers a 15 year period of one if not the greatest bands and showman there has ever been.
If you were lucky enough like me to grow up with the music of Queen and witness them live along with their triumphant set at Wembley for Live Aid then this film is everything you wanted and more.
For a new generation of people who knew nothing about this period then it give a entertaining potted history to this once in a lifetime event.
The acting I tremendous and all the main cast members must be commended on their work in looking and sounding the part, I would think Brian, Rodger and John would feel like they were looking into a mirror, and I’m sure Freddie would be delighted with Rami Malek’s portrail of him.
Although some of the critics reviews have been a mixed bag I feel some are missing the point, this film is a joy an uplifting story it has drama,humour and some of the best music that all filmgoers will enjoy. It covers some of the less glamorous parts of Freddie’s life but doesn’t dwell on them, it’s been made as a celebration for everyone to enjoy, if you want a warts and all tail then there is plenty of books and documentaries out there.
Go see this movie you won’t be disappointe!
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
dhoyesNov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EXCELLENT!!! A must see! This will win and Emmy!!!! Rami is unforgettable! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
lovesmoviesinsfNov 3, 2018
Academy Award performance by Romy Malek. Amazing look at an extraordinary man. Brilliant musical scenes. I loved it! No idea what all the criticism is about- He was portrayed as a brilliant beyond talented confused and passionate flawed andAcademy Award performance by Romy Malek. Amazing look at an extraordinary man. Brilliant musical scenes. I loved it! No idea what all the criticism is about- He was portrayed as a brilliant beyond talented confused and passionate flawed and wonderful human being! Well done!!! A Must See for music lovers! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ArymanNov 4, 2018
Amazing experience! As a movie - maybe 7/10, but if you love Queen music add 2 stars, and another 1 if you watch this in IMAX theatre (only there is sound system to show power of Quenn music).
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasNov 3, 2018
I guess I'll never make it as a movie critic because we loved this movie and we disagree with the poor ratings by the critics. It was a long movie, yet didn't feel long. What we got out of is how he succeeded, by believing in himself andI guess I'll never make it as a movie critic because we loved this movie and we disagree with the poor ratings by the critics. It was a long movie, yet didn't feel long. What we got out of is how he succeeded, by believing in himself and being supported by his band members. We don't need to know everything about him. This movie showed why Freddie Mercury was great, despite his many flaws. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 3, 2018
Considering how many issues I actually had with this film, it feels odd giving it as high of a score as this. Maybe that's the power of music and seeing the legends behind some of the best music of all time onscreen for the first time. RamiConsidering how many issues I actually had with this film, it feels odd giving it as high of a score as this. Maybe that's the power of music and seeing the legends behind some of the best music of all time onscreen for the first time. Rami Malek's performance and the music alone honestly allow me to look past the film's many flaws (the sanitized feel, the cliches, the blatant falsehoods/omissions in the narrative). But it's the earnest approach, though, that really won me over in the end. This is a great time and an easy listen overall. Good stuff. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettNov 3, 2018
Great movie about great man. High five for Rami Malek - really good job. Those songs - I could feel people in cinema were about to start to sing together. People even applauded at the end of the movie. Freddy, you will be remembered in centuries.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 2, 2018
This was a pretty fun biopic that greatly highlighted the life and times of Freddie Mercury and the legendary rock band Queen. However, it is a bit by the numbers in terms of a biopic and the story and pacing felt rushed at times, but RamiThis was a pretty fun biopic that greatly highlighted the life and times of Freddie Mercury and the legendary rock band Queen. However, it is a bit by the numbers in terms of a biopic and the story and pacing felt rushed at times, but Rami Malek's highly energetic and fully committed performance as Mercury greatly carries much of the film to make up for that. He's definitely what makes the film the most fun to watch. Overall, like I said, it felt pretty standard for a biopic, but that doesn't mean I didn't have any fun with it, and even if you're not a huge Queen fan, there's no denying how catchy and fun most of their songs are, so there's plenty of great things to enjoy in this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AcaciaNov 3, 2018
I loved this movie! Freddie Mercury was a unique and fascinating person with a talent for innovation In music. Rami Malek is superb as Mercury and I thought the story was so interesting. Loved nearing the music of Queen and learning theI loved this movie! Freddie Mercury was a unique and fascinating person with a talent for innovation In music. Rami Malek is superb as Mercury and I thought the story was so interesting. Loved nearing the music of Queen and learning the backstory of how the group came to be and how it evolved into being one of the biggest groups of its time. The supporting cast was all terrific and I really enjoyed this movie. JUSt wish it didn’t have to end the way it had to. Heartbreaking. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
harsubaghNov 3, 2018
one of the best movies i have seen this year. i was not a big fan of Queen going into the movie yet when it was finished, i came out with their tunes in my head and unable to shake them. when i heard Rami Malek was in the starring role, ione of the best movies i have seen this year. i was not a big fan of Queen going into the movie yet when it was finished, i came out with their tunes in my head and unable to shake them. when i heard Rami Malek was in the starring role, i know i would dismiss the pro critics overall assessment and see the film. it was a great pleasure! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
IHateEveryMovieNov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was a'ight. You learn a lot of things from biopics. For example, I didn't know that Freddie Mercury was born in the multiplayer map from Halo 2 Zanzibar. I didn't even know it was POSSIBLE for a human being to be born in a video game, let alone a video game that was released over four decades after he was born. Maybe, like his last name, it suggests why Queen's music is so good. It's out of this world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
The3AcademySinsNov 4, 2018
For a biopic on a band that went against the musical formula, the film Bohemian Rhapsody is depressingly formulaic. This movie feels more like a cash-grab for the surviving members of Queen than an honest look at the band or Freddie Mercury.For a biopic on a band that went against the musical formula, the film Bohemian Rhapsody is depressingly formulaic. This movie feels more like a cash-grab for the surviving members of Queen than an honest look at the band or Freddie Mercury. In that vein, Freddie Mercury's portrayal is ultimately the downfall of the film.

On one hand, Raimi Malek does a great job portraying the legendary frontman. On the other hand, Bryan Singer's direction is lazy, the script is bad and the movie drags along, spending way too much time on Mary Austin for one thing, but the biggest problem with the script is this: It feels like Queen is trying to take credit for Freddie Mercury being as good as he is, and that is just not the case in real life. Also, there is not nearly enough music in this film. I left the theater feeling unfulfilled.

The movie Bohemian Rhapsody feels a lot like a serious Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story. This is not a compliment. Bohemian Rhapsody is contrived, way too safe (the PG-13 rating is indicative of this) and way too boring. This should have been a straight-to-Netflix movie, and it really does feel like that. This is easily one of the most disappointing movies of the year. I would have given this a 4 if it were not for Raimi Malek's performance, which places this movie at a low 5.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
sensorglitchNov 3, 2018
"Whatever you do, don't make me boring..." - those are the famouse words of Freddie Mercury. They did it, they made him boring. They took out everything that was really outrageous and interesting, and they dulled it down into a pg-13, media"Whatever you do, don't make me boring..." - those are the famouse words of Freddie Mercury. They did it, they made him boring. They took out everything that was really outrageous and interesting, and they dulled it down into a pg-13, media friendly borefest in which they tried to cram too many storylines together rather than really saying anything. All of the points of this film which you can tell were supposed to have emotional impact, just didn't old anything interesting. It was a terribly artfully done film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
pupokNov 2, 2018
Моё знакомство с Queen происходило ещё в далёкие нулевые. В то время я ещё толком и не понимал смысла и посыла их песен, но даже тогда я воспринимал их композиции не так, как песни других исполнителей. Время шло, я рос, но моя любовь к QueenМоё знакомство с Queen происходило ещё в далёкие нулевые. В то время я ещё толком и не понимал смысла и посыла их песен, но даже тогда я воспринимал их композиции не так, как песни других исполнителей. Время шло, я рос, но моя любовь к Queen только крепчала. Я помню как играл их песни в играх серии Guitar Hero, я чувствовал себя Брайном Мэем, это чувство настоящего рока переполняло меня. И уходя с сеанса я вновь ощутил это невообразимое состояние! Но обо всём по-порядку.

Игра Рэми Малика восхитительная. Он отлично поработал над образом старины Фредди. Если вы хоть раз смотрели запись живых выступлений Queen, то наверняка обратили внимание на то настроение, эмоции, тот драйв, которые испытывает Меркьюри на сцене. Малик попал точно в цель подбирая актёрские приспособления для передачи образа Фреда. Без сомнений Рэми затмил своей игрой всех на площадке! Но справедливости ради, хочется написать, что остальной актёрский состав показал себя хорошо. Теперь пару слов о сюжете. В первые 30 минут фильма всё действие происходит очень сумбурно, может даже показаться, что фильм толком не показывает, а рассказывает. Однако к середине хронометража вся спешка сбавляет свои обороты и зритель может насладиться отличным байопиком и получить море эмоций. Естественно, основное действие смещено на историю Фредди Меркьюри, однако история остальных членов группы показана достаточно внятно и интересно.

Как итог, это отличная музыкальная биографическая драма, в которой из недостатков присутствует лишь неровность в повествовании. И это наверно лучший фильм 2018, который совершенно незаслуженно раскритиковали.

10 из 10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
jb1296Nov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bohemian Rhapsody is a film which hasn't been received that well by the critics, but seems to have been well received by the audiences that have seen it. The best part of this film is Rami Malek, his performance as Freddie Mercury is excellent and is one of the best performances that I have seen in a film in 2018. Honestly words aren't enough to describe how good his performance is in this film. I also think that the film is very well made in a technical sense, the cinematography is good and the sound design is amazing in this film. This film doesn't show any of the issues that it had in production, unlike some other films where you can tell many different creative minds have had influence in the final product, Bohemian Rhapsody doesn't show them. I also think that the final 20 minutes of this film are incredible, essentially the show the Live aid performance in 1985 and perform all the songs on stage. However, I am not going to act like this is perfect film, there are some issues with the film. Firstly, the second act in this film drags a lot and I feel this is because the band members aren't explored that much, so we get a few hints at their chemistry but not as much a we should. Secondly outside the of band, there are few characters which don't have explained motivations, there is one scene where Freddy isn't told about the Live aid concert, but the explanation isn't really explored much. Finally, the CGI in this film sticks out quite a lot, there isn't that much in this film but when there is CGI you really do notice it. Overall, Bohemian Rhapsody is a film which is watchable, I think the film could do with some improvements but it's a good film and you won't be disappointed if you go and see this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Joshuaj2005Nov 2, 2018
Absoulutly go see this movie and don’t see the nutcracker this weekend. This movie perfectly describes Freddie Mercury’s life and the band Queen. From it’s 2hr runtime, it’s worth it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Altairys38Nov 4, 2018
Legendary film about legendary Queen.When they showed Live Aid concert, i , literaly, belive then i watch it for real
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
wulfsigeNov 4, 2018
What I feel people are getting wrong is what this movie is about. It's not about Queen or Freddie but about the human condition. Through their songs and Freddie's struggles we manage to get a glimpse of how hard life is. How no matter howWhat I feel people are getting wrong is what this movie is about. It's not about Queen or Freddie but about the human condition. Through their songs and Freddie's struggles we manage to get a glimpse of how hard life is. How no matter how famous or rich we are at the end of the day we are all humans and we will suffer one way or the other.

That is the real message here, and Queen's songs are the perfect medium to tell a story like that... you honestly don't have to look any further than "We are The Champions" to get the gist of it. Seeing them perform the songs while you listen to the lyrics is a story in and of itself. I am honestly surprised this flew over so many critics' heads.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
AaronRadcliffNov 2, 2018
Naturally great music and a stellar performance by Rami Malek aren't enough to carry what is ultimately a self-aggrandizing CliffsNotes take on one of music's greatest talents
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
shpostalNov 2, 2018
Film bios tread fairly fine lines. They can be absolutely brilliant ("Lincoln") but with musical bios, much of the pleasure derived will be decided by whether the viewer likes the band or performer to begin with. Myself being aFilm bios tread fairly fine lines. They can be absolutely brilliant ("Lincoln") but with musical bios, much of the pleasure derived will be decided by whether the viewer likes the band or performer to begin with. Myself being a musician and very informed on the bands and music I like, I will be fairly critical but open minded. There was a Beach Boy movie from years ago that was absolutely terrible. It played with the facts, created a bunch of "events" that never happened, like the origins of "Fun Fun Fun", where the boys supposedly saw a blond driving a T-bird outside the studio, when in fact it was written while they were on tour in Australia. "Bohemian Rhapsody" is one of the great ones. It centers mainly around Freddy Mercury, being the flamboyant entertainer par excellence he was, and if there is one beef it is that the contributions of the rest of Queen are underplayed. For example, no mention of Brian Mays' unique home made guitar that sculpted the Queen sound, much less his stellar playing. But all in all the film is a compelling and eventually very touching story, factually correct but doesn't exactly follow the exact time lines of the use of Queen music. As it's told it doesn't matter, however. Plus, the real Freddy Mercury vocals are used unless the actor who portrays him, Rami Malek has an identical voice, which I doubt. But his lip synching is very convincing, and the band is portrayed as accurately as possible, with the actors "playing" with their fingers in the right places at the right times. Rami Malek is the real star of the show, who channels the late Mercury to precise levels. The tales of excess and Mercury's sexual proclivities are kept to a minimum, only to keep the facts present without the overkill. Queen would triumph one last time with the original line up at the massive Live Aid global concert in 1985, where the film culminates. We are spared thankfully the severest suffering Freddy would endure as he fought AIDS and would tragically die from in 1991. But it's a moving tale, and a bit tearful. We can be thankful now that AIDS isn't the automatic death sentence it was in the first years of its rampage. Mercury showed the world that one could still be a top notch entertainer, full of heart and spirit regardless of sex preference. A much much missed and so much more worthy than homophobes who still insist on attacking the LGBT trans community without cause and plenty of hate. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
LinkfuchoNov 3, 2018
Como las opiniones negativas de los "criticos" cuando salio Bohemian Rhapsody, se repite lo mismo con este largometraje, emoción y recordarle a las nuevas generaciones el peso de Queen. Métanse sus criticas por donde mejor les quepan a esosComo las opiniones negativas de los "criticos" cuando salio Bohemian Rhapsody, se repite lo mismo con este largometraje, emoción y recordarle a las nuevas generaciones el peso de Queen. Métanse sus criticas por donde mejor les quepan a esos pseudos críticos y rueguen que las nuevas generaciones aprendan a amar canciones de verdad y no los "éxitos" de papel de hoy. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Rebecca31Nov 2, 2018
Bohemian Rhapsody covers the formation of Queen and the life of Freddie Mercury up until the Live Aid concert in 1985. I don’t care if half of it is fiction I still loved it.

Starring Rami Malek (Freddie Mercury), Gwilym Lee (Brian May), Ben
Bohemian Rhapsody covers the formation of Queen and the life of Freddie Mercury up until the Live Aid concert in 1985. I don’t care if half of it is fiction I still loved it.

Starring Rami Malek (Freddie Mercury), Gwilym Lee (Brian May), Ben Hardy (Roger Taylor), and Joseph Mazzello (John Deacon). The trailer just gives you a taste of Malek’s transformation into Freddie Mercury, he portrayed the icon with energy, charisma and showmanship to perfection. The casting was perfect it just needed a better script and a better director. It would have made all the difference and elevated the rest of the film to the standard set by the actors. Bohemian Rhapsody doesn’t really know if it wanted to be the Freddie Mercury story, or the life of Queen. You end up getting a watered down version of both stories, with time constraints it’s not possible to have it all but I still wanted more. More of how Queen wrote their songs, more of Freddie’s life, I found myself wishing this had been a TV mini-series just so I could see more. You also can’t help but feel that a good portion of it has taken some creative liberties and as for giving us an insight into Freddie’s life it doesn’t really get the depth you want. The 12a rating used to bring in a bigger audience is definitely to blame here. In a way a documentary like Amy or Whitney would have been the better way to go but then we’d miss out on Malek’s performance and we can’t have that. With Sacha Baron Cohen dropping out early on due to creative differences and all the other problems that went on behind the scenes Bohemian Rhapsody could have been a disaster. It is getting some harsh reviews due to the supposed historical inaccuracies and yes maybe you’re thinking this review is biased because I like Queen but I was entertained the whole time, I found the chemistry between the main cast to be believable and genuine. The music is spectacular and not only that but the miming was impeccable. Convincing miming isn’t easy apparently just ask the cast of The Greatest Showman. No the film isn’t a masterpiece and it has got some issues but I still loved it. The music and Malek’s performance keep you in the film and during the Live Aid concert it’s electric. You’ll be singing Queen songs for days after seeing Bohemian Rhapsody. Highly recommended, not to be missed and a must see for the Queen fans.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
hmschreckNov 3, 2018
I enjoyed it. It's not perfect, but it's very, very good. The core was right, and people will know about one of the best bands of all time again. How can I not be excited?
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
YeetusMcGeetusNov 4, 2018
I nearly fell asleep. How could they do this to Freddie? Its so by the books and lazy! Where is the celebration of Queen and Freddie's music? Bryan Singer needs to get his act together!
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesNov 2, 2018
A group of outcasts from the late 20th century come together and rewrite the rules about what’s possible with music, only to have their leader struck down in his prime by AIDS. I just described “Straight Outta Compton,” a great movie. This isA group of outcasts from the late 20th century come together and rewrite the rules about what’s possible with music, only to have their leader struck down in his prime by AIDS. I just described “Straight Outta Compton,” a great movie. This is not that, because it makes things up and plays it safe. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeNov 2, 2018
it drags, leaps and skips..

Bohemian Rhapsody Singer's adaptation of the ups and downs of Freddie Mercury and the infamous Queens, is barely of the quality that their music was. This is an unstable feature. Fumbling down the road, it drags,
it drags, leaps and skips..

Bohemian Rhapsody

Singer's adaptation of the ups and downs of Freddie Mercury and the infamous Queens, is barely of the quality that their music was. This is an unstable feature. Fumbling down the road, it drags, leaps and skips out all the crispy and husky bits that actually makes it appetizing. There are only few genuine moments that gives you the electrifying feeling of the stage and that too can only be achieved if the audience reaches out for the makers. It doesn't serve you its thrills and chills like it should.

It makes you work hard for it. It makes you earn its sweet and juicy moments. It is a very difficult feature to watch. The uncomfortable in the uncertainty that the entire trajectory is covered under, itches you till the last frame of the feature. It is so bizarrely confined in its world that it never grows beyond its frizzy bubble. Even the last act, to which the entire feature builds up to, is so under pressure that it collapse before it even builds itself up.

Singer is working so hard to make your feet groove that you can practically watch him sweat behind the screen. And that is so not a delightful sight to encounter. And in that ten to twelve minutes of a sequence, he barely draws out a nod from the viewers. The rest of the personal experiences of Freddie Mercury that is depicted in here, is so non cinematic that none of the drama conveys the message clearly. Again, it is so poorly constructed and written with such dull skills, that it comes off as two guys sharing the moments by reminiscing about it and they neither care nor feels to share the actual momentum of that chapter.

The first act is your usual rise and fame dipped with mistakes and hints imputed by tiny innuendos that would give away the rest of the act. And the middle one, are just series of events that you have already predicted, being performed and projected with none whatsoever energy or enthusiasm from the makers. The editing is the major conundrum of the feature. It is not well shot or molded out. It is benign and juvenile at times, that it looks like it is mocking its own concept. It takes its material for granted and fails to communicate the gravitas of that feeling or moment. Malek is investing all his chips in. And you can point that out easily. His study on the lead singer of the Queen is plausible and way too technical.

It is so mechanical that it is left out a bit dry. There is no depth in his eyes, it is always calculative. He doesn't go with the flow. He is measuring the crust of his performance which makes it less and less shallow. He has given enough range by the writers, McCarten and Morgan, to flaunt his skills and create a powerful impact on the viewers, but at those times the feature grows weak. Bohemian Rhapsody should have had the performance of the year and should have been the musical of the year, at least it had the potential to, but it's nothing more than a swing and a miss.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
abdiespinozaNov 3, 2018
bad movie for the dead Freddy, this should have had more best direction and more exploration at her life.
3 of 23 users found this helpful320
All this user's reviews
0
minokuNov 5, 2018
Meaningless a commercial movie with no depth. Sorry but only mainstream and 0 respect for a legend.
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
5
GreatMartinNov 6, 2018
The main and possibly only reason to see "Bohemian Rhapsody" is the performance of Rami Malek though some people familiar with the band Queen and their music might enjoy it for that reason though very seldom do you hear a complete song sungThe main and possibly only reason to see "Bohemian Rhapsody" is the performance of Rami Malek though some people familiar with the band Queen and their music might enjoy it for that reason though very seldom do you hear a complete song sung at one time.
What made Freddie Mercury the 'boss' of what Queen did? Yes, his outfits were 'out there' but Cher and Elton John did them first. Was the fact of his extra incisors, as he claims, gave him a four-octave vocal range make him the star he became? there are a lot of questions you are left with after the movie is over because basically "Bohemian Rhapsody" is the same as most Hollywood biographies of musicians from drug scenes to people taking advantage of them and groupies feeding off their fame.
There is a look at his family at the beginning with the back story of his family emigrating from Zanzibar when he was a young boy and the Hollywood ending about them at the end. Though Freddie seems to have had a deep relationship with Mary Austin, played by Lucy Boynton, becoming engaged, this was a storyline that could have diverted the film from just another 'bio' but that could have been caused by the film changing directors and, possibly, direction of the story by Anthony McCarten and Peter Morgan with McCarten writing the screenplay. At the same time, Queen's guitarist Brian May and drummer Roger Taylor supplied the stories about the band which may have been skewered to show them in a better light.
The handling of Mercury's having AIDS and his being gay are handled as if all gays go to backrooms in bars, have orgies, do drugs, just as most movies show the same. There are strong performances from Gwlym Lee as Brian May, Ben Hardy as Roger Taylor and Joseph Mazzello as the band members, Allen Leech as Freddie's personal assistant who betrays him,Aaron McCusker as a bright light in the singer's life, Mike Myers, almost unrecognizable, as a man who didn't understand what Mercury wanted to accomplish, among other actors.
The bottom line is that if you are a Queen fan, like their music and want to see Rami Malek in what is certainly an Oscar-nominated performance then "Bohemian Rhapsody" is a film to see. The reenactment of their Live Aid performance is really engaging camera work by Newton Thomas Sigel.

PS To tell the truth I only vaguely heard of Queen, was a wee bit more familiar with Freddie Mercury and can only remember hearing 2-3 of their songs usually on the soundtrack of a movie or covered by someone else.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Nov 2, 2018
An incredibly painful disappointment. I had high hopes and great expectations for Bohemian Rhapsody but unfortunately this biopic simply revels in its own ego turning into a few minutes of footage monumental moments of the band.

We have to
An incredibly painful disappointment. I had high hopes and great expectations for Bohemian Rhapsody but unfortunately this biopic simply revels in its own ego turning into a few minutes of footage monumental moments of the band.

We have to be honest, you cannot compress a story like Queen's in 120 minutes. A story like that of Freddie Mercury and worse, I understand they don't focus on certain elements but they really only give less than 10 minutes to the creation of the song that gives the title to the film?

Rami Malek tries and he's the real support of this film but his performance is not great or memorable. His accent sounds quite fake and forced.
I have to say his performance isn't bad but he never manages to channel Mercury's personality.

The final part also disappointed me enough because it resorts to cheap sentimentality when the film reaches the point where Freddie finds out about his illness and when he shares it with his bandmates and especially focusing the final sequence on his Live Aid performance which it's exciting but when it ends, it ends abruptly and the film ends like that and to be honest what stays with you at the end of this film, is the feeling that it was just a simple opportunity to add a film to the name of the band.

About the comments that people is doing now of Sacha Baron Cohen's version which was more focused on sordid aspects of Mercury's private life, I can only say that I'm indifferent to it. The private life of any musician that I like doesn't matter to me at all, what matters to me is their work.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
JoshssNov 9, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nonononononononononononononononononononononononoonononononoononononononoonononononononoonon Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
FunkymonkNov 8, 2018
Critic reviews who moan about it not being 100% factually accurate, clichés or parts of the story that could have been expanded on are missing the point or taking things too seriously; Bohemian Rhapsody (like the band it's self) is justCritic reviews who moan about it not being 100% factually accurate, clichés or parts of the story that could have been expanded on are missing the point or taking things too seriously; Bohemian Rhapsody (like the band it's self) is just outrageous, joyful entertainment with pitch perfect performances and breath taking concert scenes that almost make you feel like you're there. You'll laugh, cry and cheer. It may even make you sing and dance! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryNov 6, 2018
I was never a fan of Queen's music or Freddie Mercury, but this film fosters an appreciation of both. The story covers the band's career with the focus on Mercury. As the lead singer, Rami Malek beautifully creates a character who'sI was never a fan of Queen's music or Freddie Mercury, but this film fosters an appreciation of both. The story covers the band's career with the focus on Mercury. As the lead singer, Rami Malek beautifully creates a character who's headstrong, brilliant, charismatic and outrageous (for his day). The narrative follows a traditional arc, covering the band's creative output and success (with all the hits), as well as Mercury's personal struggles. Without ever being emotionally involving or especially original in approach or direction, it still manages to create an interesting biopic. NOTE: In an ironic (and somewhat disguised) role, Mike Myers gets to diss the title song, which was a reference to his performance of the song in "Wayne's World." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
onuxNov 8, 2018
Forget the critic reviews. Amazing movie that is well worth a watch and sensitively portrays the highs and lows of the band. A must watch if you're a fan but equally enjoyable for any music lover. Casting is so good, and Remi Malek'sForget the critic reviews. Amazing movie that is well worth a watch and sensitively portrays the highs and lows of the band. A must watch if you're a fan but equally enjoyable for any music lover. Casting is so good, and Remi Malek's performance never breaks the immersion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DodgerNov 9, 2018
Granted this movie is not my usual fair, having said this Bohemian Rhapsody met and in some places exceeded my expectation. Well cast, well acted and it ticks most of the boxes of a good film. Sure it rides alot on the musicalscore, but whatGranted this movie is not my usual fair, having said this Bohemian Rhapsody met and in some places exceeded my expectation. Well cast, well acted and it ticks most of the boxes of a good film. Sure it rides alot on the musicalscore, but what do you expect from a movie about Queen? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WaelNov 13, 2018
Rami Malek's show-stopping performance is capable, on its own, of lifting up a biopic that somehow lacks when it comes to screenplay and direction. This one is sure to please Queen fans all around the world, and will definitely make the bandRami Malek's show-stopping performance is capable, on its own, of lifting up a biopic that somehow lacks when it comes to screenplay and direction. This one is sure to please Queen fans all around the world, and will definitely make the band a lot more accessible to new generations. Amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveNov 8, 2018
A WORTHY CANDIDATE FOR THE MOST UNDERRATED FILM OF THE YEAR. Attacked by most critics for what it isn't rather than for what it is. Most Freddie Mercury fans want to remember him as presented in this film. The more seedy or sensationalistA WORTHY CANDIDATE FOR THE MOST UNDERRATED FILM OF THE YEAR. Attacked by most critics for what it isn't rather than for what it is. Most Freddie Mercury fans want to remember him as presented in this film. The more seedy or sensationalist side is not pertinent for what his fans want to see. Rami Malek is just sensational in the lead role and the other band members are not given short shrift in a screenplay that is much better than reported. The film is compelling, thoroughly entertaining and the music speaks for itself. The recreation of live aid is fabulous and a special shout out needs to go to hair and make up for just an amazingly believable and wonderful job. Critics stop being so sniffy and enjoy the movie for what it is and not for what you wanted it to be! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreenZombieNov 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yet more proof that critics are out of touch with the fans. This movie was fantastic. I enjoyed every minute of it! My absolute favorite part was Mike Meyers being the guy who doesn't like Bohemian Rhapsody lol. That was such a great reference. I have always loved Queen, but didn't really delve into the personal life of the band. This movie was very insightful. As anything, I'm sure a lot of it is just for entertainment value, but man, the actor that played Freddy Mercury looked and acted just like the things I've seen. The ending really immersed me as if I was at the Live-Aid concert. I LOVED IT! Great movie to enjoy in the theaters if you can overcome the outrageous ticket prices. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantNov 9, 2018
The critics sure have missed it on this one -- a well-crafted biopic that could use a few tweaks here and there but that otherwise delivers the goods about the legendary rock band Queen and its iconic lead singer Freddie Mercury. I'm not sureThe critics sure have missed it on this one -- a well-crafted biopic that could use a few tweaks here and there but that otherwise delivers the goods about the legendary rock band Queen and its iconic lead singer Freddie Mercury. I'm not sure what reviewers were expecting, but many of the criticisms ring hollow, cynical, superficial or insufficiently explained. Overall, this offering hits mostly right notes in telling its story and enlightening viewers about its central character, and it does so in a way that's entertaining and informative. If nothing else, see it for the excellent performance sequences, but don't be surprised if you come away loving it for the rest of its qualities as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AxeTNov 6, 2018
While technically very well made by a veteran director with a standout performance by the lead (not a fan of him in "Mr. Robot" but have to give credit here) and compelling most of the way, it drags in the third act by concentrating onWhile technically very well made by a veteran director with a standout performance by the lead (not a fan of him in "Mr. Robot" but have to give credit here) and compelling most of the way, it drags in the third act by concentrating on particular events at the overall expense of the band's trajectory and impact. There are curious chronological flaws which must be intended but are not ultimately acceptable, and like other rock band biopics such as "Straight Outta Compton" this liberally rips off Oliver Stone's "The Doors" in formative origin plotting, style and even directly steals an entire scene! All said it's still worth it if you're a fan of the music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrillcosbeyNov 2, 2018
If you ever liked music and enjoy a good story then see this film, it was a fun peek into a time that music really did rule the world and also an allegory for someone who fly's too close to the heavens. One of the best films of 2018 hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulNov 7, 2018
Acabo de ver Bohemian Rhapsody, una película a la que asistí escéptico y lleno de altas expectativas al mismo tiempo por diversas razones y circunstancias, la cinta me dejó completamente boquiabierto y con el corazón queriendo salirseAcabo de ver Bohemian Rhapsody, una película a la que asistí escéptico y lleno de altas expectativas al mismo tiempo por diversas razones y circunstancias, la cinta me dejó completamente boquiabierto y con el corazón queriendo salirse disparado de mi pecho, sin más que añadir, sean o no sean fans de Queen les recomiendo esta película a ojos cerrados Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DavidTejadaNov 4, 2018
"When it comes to the music, Bohemian Rhapsody delights the audience and brings back so many memories. Besides, some exemplary performances like Rami Malek's or Lucy Boynton's. Nevertheless, there's a bit of incoherence between real-life"When it comes to the music, Bohemian Rhapsody delights the audience and brings back so many memories. Besides, some exemplary performances like Rami Malek's or Lucy Boynton's. Nevertheless, there's a bit of incoherence between real-life occurrences and movie ones. In addition, some scenes wasted and redundant." It's fascinating to know that a legend is reborn with a spectacular cast, record and context (sometimes is a little difficult to produce movies from 40 years ago). I must confess, when I listened to Queen's most famous songs it brought me so many memories which never fade. I'm glad with the movie's good intentions and particularly with director's job (overall) and highlighting the phenomenal storytelling. I even daresay that Bohemian Rhapsody -sort of- disclosed Mercury's anxieties and fears.

In spite of having positive things, I can't believe the live performances turned out to take up -more or less- A FOURTH of the movie. I mean, we are supposed to know more about Mercury's past and origins (which they did at some point) however, instead of giving us more crucial information, the movie decides to spend almost 40 minutes in just watching Freddy being crazy in front of the crowd. Just going nuts. And technically is a reason why the movie did not succeed so much according to the critics’ point of view. Finally, but not least, the movie does not give truth information about the band nor dates. For example: The song Fat Bottomed Girls was not produced until 1978, but the movie says it was in 1975. Then, Rio’s concert happened in 1981 not 1977. Mary was already pregnant before visiting Mercury, and he already knew it. As you can see, there are wrong dates and information which I, as a person who wanted to know more, did not like.

In summary, the movie is really good if you want to hear some amazing hits, Mercury’s some events, some origins or some life episodes. Sadly, the movie presents itself as a non-reliable source of information and a partial story of what would be: Freddy Mercury: (65/100)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hugoferreiraNov 13, 2018
This movie is exhilaration from top to bottom. Truly entertaining, fast paced and with a kick that will leave you happy in your movie seat theater. Rami delivers in my opinion an award wining performance here. He is the heart and soul of theThis movie is exhilaration from top to bottom. Truly entertaining, fast paced and with a kick that will leave you happy in your movie seat theater. Rami delivers in my opinion an award wining performance here. He is the heart and soul of the movie. However, we're talking about Freddie here, and if we we're talking about Freddie then i must say the movie comes a bit short. The music is there, it will make you jump from your seat when "tum tum ta tum tum ta" starts just like Queen's music does, but when it comes to Freddie then you feel like something is missing. The most outrageous, eccentric, exciting musical genius of all time fails short in the movie and due to, perhaps, Singer's lack of balls in delivering a more crude, raw, real version of Freddie, because Rami was perfect. Still, I think anything would fall short when speaking of Freddie so let's just enjoy!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
darthmarccusNov 4, 2018
Excellent movie, it really transmits the great energy and vibe of this fantastic music band!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trineo99Nov 9, 2018
First of all Rami Malek did a fantastic job as Freddie. He deserves an Oscar nomination for his performance as the lead singer. He brought real depth to him like he made him seem like an average person that everybody can relate to. SomeFirst of all Rami Malek did a fantastic job as Freddie. He deserves an Oscar nomination for his performance as the lead singer. He brought real depth to him like he made him seem like an average person that everybody can relate to. Some people can even relate to his struggles that he goes through during the movie. The film also showed you not just the ups of the group but also the downs. Not a lot of biopics will do that and I’m really glad this one did. I also really liked how the film made it seem like you’re a fly on the wall during the events. It took you into their process of making the famous songs that we all know and love to this day. One thing that I want to know is how much time and effort went into making the costumes in this film? Cause all costumes looked like the ones they wore in real life. If they don’t win for best costumes then I’ll be really upset. Now, this film only had a few issues for me. For example, in a few scenes, the pacing was off. They rushed through a bunch of different things that were kind of important to the plot or at least so we can better understand how the songs were created and the main relationship. But I can understand cutting some scenes short seeing how the film is already 2 hours and 15 minutes long. This is just me being nit-picky here but I also wish there more songs in the film. In the end, Bohemian Rhapsody is a pretty good film for people who are fans of Queen, heard of them, or who just want to see a good biopic movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jk9785Nov 11, 2018
Though the performances, particularly that of Rami Malek, are impeccable, a bad screenplay and rapid shift in tones bring this film way down. It should have been much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EvilkermitNov 7, 2018
It's a kind of magic...with all of the feels.

It may not be absolutely accurate with the timeline and the band's history, but it is a great story. A great story backed up with a fantastic soundtrack. Despite what the critics say, this is
It's a kind of magic...with all of the feels.

It may not be absolutely accurate with the timeline and the band's history, but it is a great story. A great story backed up with a fantastic soundtrack.

Despite what the critics say, this is one of the rare instances where you can go to a movie and simply have a great time.

Be warned though, if you're a fan there will be some real tear-jerking moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jaredwallace91Nov 5, 2018
A missed opportunity. The film is able to capture each band members personalities perfectly, bit fails to use that to any storytelling advantage. Freddie Mercury deserves better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
defdog99Nov 7, 2018
It follows a path like a Rocky movie. If you liked cheering at the end of Rocky, you'll love cheering at the end of BR. This was a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AMFcriticNov 11, 2018
The first half is a lot of moments united only to reach the second half, which has more coherence when it comes to telling the story.
The end is intense and exciting, it has you on the edge of the seat at all times. 8.0 / 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TamiTeaNov 7, 2018
I'm no critic, but I had a lot of fun on this movie. I laugh, I cry, I sing, and those emotions are what makes this movie a masterpiece :).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bimmybob2001Nov 7, 2018
I honestly found this movie Better than "Stright Outta Compton" it's Way more respectful to Queen than it's getting credit for. it may no have gotten Every single detail about his life perfectly spot on, but for the most part, they getI honestly found this movie Better than "Stright Outta Compton" it's Way more respectful to Queen than it's getting credit for. it may no have gotten Every single detail about his life perfectly spot on, but for the most part, they get everything abut as Right as they can without just making things up. and that's what makes a Good Biopic. YOU GET IT RIGHT Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Vitor007Nov 10, 2018
"Bohemian Rhapsody " brings a perspective that many already knew. Unfortunately, his script does not have a good conflict, leaving important things (such as the singing of Freddie Mercury, the use of drugs and how he left us) are completely"Bohemian Rhapsody " brings a perspective that many already knew. Unfortunately, his script does not have a good conflict, leaving important things (such as the singing of Freddie Mercury, the use of drugs and how he left us) are completely forced or misunderstood. Your ending gets annoying. However, its good characterization both in the scenarios and in the characters makes it a unique experience for Queen fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ErikTheCriticNov 11, 2018
With fantastic acting and excellent direction, this biopic hits a lot of high notes, with plenty of inspiring and touching moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkiniNov 11, 2018
Great, entertaining film! Rami Malek does and amazing perforamnce in the film, as he transforms into Freddie Mercury. The film does a great job in balancing music, drama and storytelling to give a great piece of entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FelRes2511Nov 5, 2018
The movie has an excellent cating, talks in a incredible way the story of Freddie Mercury, out of that, it's a PG movie, but the movie contains several and rude language that a boy shouldn't listen to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EberthCruzNov 6, 2018
Excelente, definitivamente una de las peliculas más motivacionales que he podido ver, muchas gracias a los productores y los actores por realizar tan perfecta adaptacion de la vida de fredy, 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LittleWing_Nov 7, 2018
Telling the story of the most extraordinary character ever with a cliche movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamagiReviewsNov 8, 2018
As a guy who's been a Queen fan since I've been a music fan, this movie has given me mixed emotions. On the one hand, It is an incredibly entertaining movie with fantastic performances and a, needless to say, fantastic soundtrack. The endingAs a guy who's been a Queen fan since I've been a music fan, this movie has given me mixed emotions. On the one hand, It is an incredibly entertaining movie with fantastic performances and a, needless to say, fantastic soundtrack. The ending made me shed a tear, and I left the theater with a sense of joy, and made me want to rediscover Queen's music all over again. On the other hand, some timeline issues and historical inaccuracies made me question some of the decisions taken in this movie. I did react to certain songs being played before they were chronologically made in the movies timeline, and certain decisions to sacrifice historical accuracy for the purpose of storytelling were questionable. However, these things didn't take away from my full enjoyment of the movie. It isn't an accurate and truthful biopic about Freddie Mercury and his private life, instead it's a joyful celebration of Queen, their music and their legacy. It tells the story with great humor and on many occasions, I was dying of laughter for some of the unexpected jokes in this film. It is a wild ride and a fun show, just like Freddie would have wanted it to be.

+Performances
+Humor
+Soundtrack
+The final concert
+Galileo Rooster

-Historical inaccuracies
-Had potential to explore other aspects of Queen
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Daveali6Nov 8, 2018
We saw it on opening day (we're both huge Queen fans since the 70's) because we couldn't wait for the movie to come out. It definitely did not disappoint! Both of us loved it! We will definitely be going back a few more times while it'sWe saw it on opening day (we're both huge Queen fans since the 70's) because we couldn't wait for the movie to come out. It definitely did not disappoint! Both of us loved it! We will definitely be going back a few more times while it's still in the theater (we NEVER see a movie in the theater, so this is a big deal) and we'll be buying the BluRay when it comes out. Rami Malek's performance as Freddie was mind blowing! For a few minutes, our Freddie was back! Thanks, Rami! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReinsNov 8, 2018
metascoreda 49 ortalamaya katkı veren mallar kim(Bundan sonrası en az 75 kelime gerekli olduğu için yazmak durumundayım.Kesinlikle fanboyluk yoktur. %100 objektif bir yazıdır.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
acdoyleNov 9, 2018
While the lead is excellent, and an obvious Best Actor contender.....and the stick figures supporting him as band members and promoters and a girlfriend then friend are all pretty good, the narrative drags, and is terribly formulaic. TheWhile the lead is excellent, and an obvious Best Actor contender.....and the stick figures supporting him as band members and promoters and a girlfriend then friend are all pretty good, the narrative drags, and is terribly formulaic. The songs seem to have little relation to the plot, except for the title song, and seem to be filler, just stuff we've all heardf 4500 times trotted out to remind us that Queen had a lot of big hits. Almost all of the emoptional drama is utterly contrived and predictable. I enjoyed the movie overall, and of course Queen fans should see it, but this is a mediocre biopic, dwarfed by much better rock movies such as Ray and The Doors, not to mention Gimme Shelter or The Last Waltz. Entertaining, but ultimately forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DafneAntoNov 10, 2018
If I could give this movie more than 10, I would. This masterpiece is about legends, more than one. It's about a group of misfits, joint together to move people, to make them laugh, scream, cry and sing along. This movie puts the light on THEIf I could give this movie more than 10, I would. This masterpiece is about legends, more than one. It's about a group of misfits, joint together to move people, to make them laugh, scream, cry and sing along. This movie puts the light on THE band that changed everything, and on the LEGEND that was and is Freddie Mercury Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Richard-LoveNov 11, 2018
How the critics can rate this badly is beyond me. It’s a great film, and I speak as a UK fan, who’s old enough (and lucky enough) to have seen the real Freddie singing with Queen in the bands heyday. I found the film fascinating, emotional,How the critics can rate this badly is beyond me. It’s a great film, and I speak as a UK fan, who’s old enough (and lucky enough) to have seen the real Freddie singing with Queen in the bands heyday. I found the film fascinating, emotional, uplifting and memorable. It’s one of the best music films I’ve seen - though it has to be said the bands fantastic songs give it a head start! The actors are all excellent, you only hesitate a few moments before believing that they ‘are’ the original band ... hats off to everyone involved. Yes, it’s a movie adaption, edited to fit into a two hour film, so excludes much of the bands history (and many wonderful songs), but it makes for a compelling and hugely entertaining evening at the cinema. Dedicated Queen follower or just curious - go and watch it - I think you’ll be a fan afterwards! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Nehalem2018Nov 11, 2018
It's rather fitting that much like song, the critics just can't seem to see the magic in Bohemian Rhapsody. You feel the conflict of Freddie Mercury, a man of so many worlds, but a man bold enough to forge his own path and magnetic enoughIt's rather fitting that much like song, the critics just can't seem to see the magic in Bohemian Rhapsody. You feel the conflict of Freddie Mercury, a man of so many worlds, but a man bold enough to forge his own path and magnetic enough that people follow him. There are plenty of "I'm not crying, you're crying!" moments. It is one of the best movies I have seen all year. Easy 9/10. Go see it in an AMC Dolby Cinema and take the amazing music to the next level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LuciferMercuryNov 12, 2018
I think it's one of the best films ever !! At least it's better than f*cking superheroes of Marvel or other sh*t
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jsmarty1Nov 12, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Funny how just like the song originally, critics don't seem to get why this film is so brilliant. They're upset for what they didn't see, that it didn't challenge boundaries, when in actuality, it shows the frailties of a brilliant musician and his progression as a man. The music tells a story, at least in the important moments. From Love of My Life, to Bohemian Rhapsody, to We Will Rock You, to Another One Bites the Dust, to the brilliant recreation of Live Aid. It moved me deeply, as it also did many others. The only thing that disappointed me was that The Show Must Go On wasn't played in the main part of the film. That song in my mind is a brilliant send off to a brilliant musician, being the last song on Queen's last album before Freddie's death. But regardless, the film was brilliant, and I am very satisfied with how the film turned out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SabsluNov 12, 2018
IM not a super fan of queen but this movie is one of the best I’ve ever seen. Emotional, funny and an amazing story of pure talent. The direction and production of this movie was so spot on and Malek’s performances amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews