IMDb: 6 HD Anon | Peppermint 2018 TS | Fighting Games
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer | Release Date: August 29, 2018
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 36 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
12
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
tropicAcesAug 29, 2018
The perfect movie to show in an 11th grade history class, some of the drama (and craziness of the real-life story) gets lost in the slow pacing of the film, but it is still a well-acted and well-intentioned piece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReceptionerAug 31, 2018
Operation Finale is a highly effective spy thriller that focuses more on procedural matters than action-- ie how the capture of Eichmann occurred, including a look inside the team who accomplished it. It presents the issue of the banality ofOperation Finale is a highly effective spy thriller that focuses more on procedural matters than action-- ie how the capture of Eichmann occurred, including a look inside the team who accomplished it. It presents the issue of the banality of evil, but also includes real-world information about Eichmann that Hannah Arendt overlooked when she made her case. The story is fully engaging and more thoughtful than crowd pleasers like Mission Impossible. I do not understand all the negative reviews, unless they are motivated by animus against the topic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
tobiaAug 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great story to tell !! i ejoyed evey minute of the movie great work from all the director and artists.. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypSep 1, 2018
A fairly straight forward Bio-pic and entertaining enough, but for the rather ridiculous, and fictional, perseveration over a signature that supposedly will make or break the mission. Like "7 days in Entebbe" it's a movie designed to enshrineA fairly straight forward Bio-pic and entertaining enough, but for the rather ridiculous, and fictional, perseveration over a signature that supposedly will make or break the mission. Like "7 days in Entebbe" it's a movie designed to enshrine the long reach of Israeli justice into the common memory. Historians will find fault with both movies, but that shouldn't bother the average viewer. Entertainment comes first, then propaganda. Facts trail in last. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerrySep 3, 2018
In 1960, Mossad agents travelled to Argentina to capture notorious Nazi Adolf Eichmann and return him to Israel for trial. Although it seems like the thriller aspects of this espionage mission could dominate, it's actually more of a dramaIn 1960, Mossad agents travelled to Argentina to capture notorious Nazi Adolf Eichmann and return him to Israel for trial. Although it seems like the thriller aspects of this espionage mission could dominate, it's actually more of a drama about the efforts by one of the agents (Oscar Isaac) to come to terms with Eichmann (Ben Kingsley) and the horrors of the Holocaust. The performances are strong and the situations are compelling. There are a few moments of tension, but the overriding focus is on the procedures and personal conflicts. Still, it provides an absorbing and gratifying history lesson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobOct 3, 2018
The movie is a very straight-forward re-telling of history with slight dramatization near the end to add "suspense". The cast did a great job, No doubt about it, but a good cast can only lift sub-par material up so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Sep 1, 2018
Nazis are easy targets. And rightfully, considering every nefarious, disastrous, and unspeakable action owned by the regime they called their own. It's easy (and also frequently effective) to portray them in films as the monsters we allNazis are easy targets. And rightfully, considering every nefarious, disastrous, and unspeakable action owned by the regime they called their own. It's easy (and also frequently effective) to portray them in films as the monsters we all suspect them as. The gravelly voices. The slimy sneers. The disfigured faces, at times. It all fits with the moral underpinnings of the greater organization they all represent. It's a comfortable, cognitively palatable image, but it's the more compelling, difficult, and cognitively dissonant image that we're not used to seeing -- the calm demeanor, the use of humor, the employment of seemingly logical philosophies to justify abhorrent atrocities -- that makes the man at the center of "Operation Finale" so fascinating to watch. Part kidnapping and part vengeance flick, "Operation Finale" rides high on its incredible true story and circumstances, its truly noteworthy performance work, and its undeniably well-conceived screenplay, ultimately delivering a wallop of a motion picture that's as difficult and as nerve-shredding as it is satisfying and informative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKAug 29, 2018
I found the first half of Operation Finale a bit dull, but once Eichmann was captured, the film became riveting. Although the cast was generally very good, it wasn’t until Ben Kingsley as Eichmann entered a cat-and-mouse game with PeterI found the first half of Operation Finale a bit dull, but once Eichmann was captured, the film became riveting. Although the cast was generally very good, it wasn’t until Ben Kingsley as Eichmann entered a cat-and-mouse game with Peter Malkin (Oscar Isaac) over signing a document that was needed before Eichmann could be flown out of Argentina that the film became really suspenseful. The tense El Al take-off at the airport was also a nail-biter. I was also lucky enough to be in an audience of serious adults who paid as much attention as I did and finished eating before the movie started. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Aug 29, 2018
In agreement with the current user score. Story was true but sometimes that leads to a monotonous flow. Acting was above par to help me grade this film in the green. Some graphic historical photos were used which helped also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
yosemiteAug 29, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From what I've read, the movie pretty much sticks to the facts. Argentina became a safe haven for ex Nazis and Adolph Eichmann was one of them. His former countrymen in Argentina knew he was a high ranking official but the movie doesn't indicate they knew exactly who he was or what his deeds had been. Its significant for today's audiences to remember that (1) this kidnapping took place only 15 years after WW2 had ended and (2) 13 years after Israel had become a nation. Ben Kingsley (as always) great in the role of Eichmann. The film lacks a certain amount of drama and intrigue but overall, an interesting story and a good movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
qSep 1, 2018
This movie recounts an interesting event in the history of attempts to bring Nazis to justice, but it dwells too long on the psychological battle between the Israeli agents and Eichmann, and it loses momentum. I came away from the movieThis movie recounts an interesting event in the history of attempts to bring Nazis to justice, but it dwells too long on the psychological battle between the Israeli agents and Eichmann, and it loses momentum. I came away from the movie wanting to get on the internet and do some research into just why Argentina was willing to host such a notorious war criminal and to allow its law enforcement agencies to interfere with the Mossad's mission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JPKSep 1, 2018
Great Film For History Class
Operation Finale Is A Well Made History Film With Great Performances From Isaac And Kingsley.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ElainePSep 9, 2018
This movie is interesting, suspenseful, and well-acted. One aspect that relates to current events was Eichmann's attempts to relocate people the Nazis considered undesirable to other countries. Other countries would not accept them. ThisThis movie is interesting, suspenseful, and well-acted. One aspect that relates to current events was Eichmann's attempts to relocate people the Nazis considered undesirable to other countries. Other countries would not accept them. This could relate to what is happening at our own American border. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eberman123Sep 18, 2018
This a solid movie. It is well acted, excellent plot and good direction. I was turned off by negative reviews but a relative recommended this film to me, Thank you. Recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ThecollectorAug 30, 2018
The expectations I had for this movie were high, considering the great and talented main cast. (Kingsley & Isaac) Sadly, those expectations were not met. The pacing at times can be very slow. The scenes between Kingsley and Isaac were filledThe expectations I had for this movie were high, considering the great and talented main cast. (Kingsley & Isaac) Sadly, those expectations were not met. The pacing at times can be very slow. The scenes between Kingsley and Isaac were filled with suspense and great acting. The supporting cast were however weak. Their inexperience could be seen in their scenes. In particular Alwyn, Scacchi and Richardson. They were a big drag to the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mark_OOct 8, 2018
Ben Kingsley deserves an Oscar for his stellar performance. The movie is great. It's not a high entertainment/flashy movie; rather, it is a very well done 'docudrama'. Watched it with boxxy software for free. Highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
clarkaddisonSep 13, 2018
I love this film. An amazing piece of film that needs to be watched. Shows the hardships of the Jewish people and their drive for justice. Everyone acts amazing in the film. I don`t think there is much in terms of missed opportunities or badI love this film. An amazing piece of film that needs to be watched. Shows the hardships of the Jewish people and their drive for justice. Everyone acts amazing in the film. I don`t think there is much in terms of missed opportunities or bad scenes. Love the musical score. I cannot sing it`s praises enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews