Action Movies | → Download | 5 Weddings
Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2018
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
8
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Davrosdaleks1Nov 9, 2018
After the American "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" did just okay at the box office, I'm guessing that the studio got worried about how they'd handle another one. This film is clearly made to be more American audience friendly and switchedAfter the American "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" did just okay at the box office, I'm guessing that the studio got worried about how they'd handle another one. This film is clearly made to be more American audience friendly and switched from a semi-down-to-Earth thriller to more traditional action film. This is far from a pure adaptation and the events and characters of the book have become simplified. I feel that this is a poor Millennium movie but as an action movie its not half-bad.

I gave "The Girl in the Spider's Web" this rating based on the intellectual side of me that wants to give others an honest appraisal and recognizes the fault in the script. The movie jumps from plot point to point too quickly without much substance, and Blomkvist, one of the two main characters in the books, is treated as an afterthought here. Though, I must admit I didn't mind at all the change to Lisbeth's past and her dynamic with her sister. I rather felt it worked here.

The fun side of me, would've bumped this up a point. The visual presentation is pretty darn good. Director Fede Alvarez, who did the Evil Dead remake and Don't Breathe has honed his skills in dark action visuals. I found there to be some pretty impressive and at times freaky imagery in this. The fight scenes, though often brief, are well executed. As a whole, the movie looks good in general with a couple really nice shots.

Though Claire Foy does an admirable job as a decent job as Lisbeth Salander, she doesn't compare to Noomi Rapace or Mara Rooney. (Same can be said for the guy who played Blomkvist.) In fairness to Foy, the film pulls more punches as Lisbeth's anti-social/on-the-spectrum traits are toned down and the character feels a bit more average. Props should be give to Sylvia Hoeks as the villain. She is effectively unsettling.

This movie will probably infuriate some fans. It's impure. I would actually recommend this more to casual viewers.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 13, 2018
This is the 3rd in the Lisbeth Salander series with a new actor as the heroine each time. For this outing, Claire Foy plays the advanced hacker and revenge stalker. Faced with a device that leads to nuclear destruction (yawn), she embarks onThis is the 3rd in the Lisbeth Salander series with a new actor as the heroine each time. For this outing, Claire Foy plays the advanced hacker and revenge stalker. Faced with a device that leads to nuclear destruction (yawn), she embarks on a complex mission to deter the culprits. While this is more like a spy thriller, it still has some cool sequences and inventive shots. On the other hand, much of the character's distinctive qualities from the first outings has been replaced with her superhero status, while some of the exploits rely too much on coincidences that stretch credibility. Still, it was mostly entertaining and visually fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
namelessNov 12, 2018
I thought the directin and editing worked but the actress just kept pulling me out of the movie. It was more like an acting exercise... watch me do this, and now I'm going to do this. This is definitely a watch on cable so you can get to theI thought the directin and editing worked but the actress just kept pulling me out of the movie. It was more like an acting exercise... watch me do this, and now I'm going to do this. This is definitely a watch on cable so you can get to the interesting parts and move past all the miscast emotive bits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HucksterNov 12, 2018
Authentic, gripping, fast paced and impressive. A very worthy addition to the GWTDT series. A kind of james bond meets tomb raider vibe, with fairly savage violence and edge of the seat escapes. Have to say I loved it from beginning toAuthentic, gripping, fast paced and impressive. A very worthy addition to the GWTDT series. A kind of james bond meets tomb raider vibe, with fairly savage violence and edge of the seat escapes. Have to say I loved it from beginning to end. Apart from a continuity issue with the bathwater I could't fault it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
shpostalNov 9, 2018
This is one of those movies where the trailer is decidedly misleading, and it's too bad that the scenes of Foy as the vigilante going after abusive men weren't the focus of the movie, because after that early scene we've all viewed onThis is one of those movies where the trailer is decidedly misleading, and it's too bad that the scenes of Foy as the vigilante going after abusive men weren't the focus of the movie, because after that early scene we've all viewed on previews the story quickly goes awry. Not that "The Girl. . . " is a bad movie - it just isn't very mindblowing, either. In a typical computer hacking story that naturally downloads some very sensitive nuke information from the NSA, and the cliched plot full of bad guys and a couple bad girls going ballistic to get the program and its information back, Foy spends most of the time running and playing "Mission: Impossible" type games as she protects a kid who knows the secret codes to open the sinister program. The trouble is that the movie is a bit jumbled and predictable when it isn't going back and forth between the good guys and bad. Yes, it's contradictory to be jumbled and predictable, but somehow the movie manages to do both at the same time. Claire Foy does a good job in her role, as do all the actors, but like "The Snowman", "The Girl in the Spider's Web" could have benefitted from a less spy vs. spy feel and perhaps focus on the vigilantism promised in the trailer. That plot would have been more interesting, as far as I'm concerned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Nov 10, 2018
I don't read much, so I never got around to reading any of the novels this film is based off of. However, I did enjoy the many film adaptations that were previously made, such as the original Swedish Dragon Tattoo trilogy, as well as theI don't read much, so I never got around to reading any of the novels this film is based off of. However, I did enjoy the many film adaptations that were previously made, such as the original Swedish Dragon Tattoo trilogy, as well as the American remake of the first that starred Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara as Lisbeth Salander. This new film is based on the fourth and most recent novel and stars Claire Foy (Netflix's The Crown) as Lisbeth in a bold, tough as nails performance. The film had its interesting moments, but the story was a pretty straightforward and predictable spy plot and it played most things out relatively safe. It definitely felt like a conventional Hollywood action thriller with more of an emphasis on action rather than style and substance like what the previous films had to offer, which I preferred slightly more. However, this isn't all bad, as Foy brings great depth and gravitas to Lisbeth and overall does great justice towards the character. I just wish the film and its story could've been fleshed out just as much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bkristmanNov 9, 2018
I read the book maybe 6 months ago. The film adaptation is almost a totally different story ,barely recognizable .
To get anything out of it though you should have read all the books because it won't make sense otherwise.
The new story races
I read the book maybe 6 months ago. The film adaptation is almost a totally different story ,barely recognizable .
To get anything out of it though you should have read all the books because it won't make sense otherwise.
The new story races along at break neck speed with almost no character development .
They drop Salander's I.Q about 70 points and take away much of her strength and independence.
The best things about the film are the cinematography which is cold,stark and beautiful and the film score which is tremendous. That was worth the 5 stars. The film itself was disappointing as it could have used another hr to flesh it out.
Maybe they'll make an extended version.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bataguilaNov 10, 2018
Exagerada, la 1ra su gran acierto es lo aterrizada y creíble que es. En esta tiran todo por la borda, nadie es sueco, el periodista solo sirve para hacer nada, la historia es predecible, ningún personaje tiene carisma; matan al papá y el hijoExagerada, la 1ra su gran acierto es lo aterrizada y creíble que es. En esta tiran todo por la borda, nadie es sueco, el periodista solo sirve para hacer nada, la historia es predecible, ningún personaje tiene carisma; matan al papá y el hijo ni se inmuta. Todo los hackeos son inmamables. La LIZ esta mas cabrona que un 007, ciencia ficción en cada hackeo de un siglo 30. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KraeneeNov 10, 2018
The movie is slow and her hacking abilities go way beyond reality here. I thought it was going to much better honestly and was looking forward to this for some time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews